The Out to Innovate™ Scholarships, established in 2011, are intended for LGBTQ+ undergraduate and graduate students pursuing degrees in science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) programs. The scholarships are designed to promote academic excellence and increased visibility of talented LGBTQ+ students in STEM careers. We are pleased to announce that Motorola Solutions Foundation has funded the Out to Innovate Scholarships for the 2024-2025 academic year for technology and engineering undergraduate students. BHE Foundation has funded several $5000 scholarships for engineering students. And individual philanthropy has funded two general STEM scholarships for $3000 (one for undergrad, and one for grad).

We have a new permanent addition to our scholarship portfolio: The Amy A. Ross Scholarship in Bioscience. Applicants to this scholarship must demonstrate a commitment to furthering LGBTQ+ visibility, diversity, and inclusion in the biosciences. This is a $2000 scholarship.

The scholarship portal is now open. The application deadline is June 1, 2024. Scroll down to near the end of this page for application instructions and the link to the application submission portal.

Scholarships to date have been awarded to:

  • 2011/2012 Academic Year: Michael Waak and Tonia Poteat; Funded by Battelle Memorial Institute (grant recieved 2011)
  • 2012/2013 Academic Year: Malakai Ryker and Carl Streed Jr. Funded by Battelle Memorial Institute (grant received 2011)
  • 2013/2014 Academic Year: Mateo Williamson and Samuel Otis Brinton. Funded by Motorola Solutions Foundation (grant received 2012)
  • 2014/2015 Academic Year: Nathalie Lambrecht and Leslie Kerby. Funded by Motorola Solutions Foundation (grant received 2013).
  • 2015/2016 Academic Year: Rachel Owen and Dustin Plowman. Funded by Motorola Solutions Foundation (grant received 2014)
  • 2016/2017 Academic Year: Albert A. and Dustin Nowaskie. Funded by Motorola Solutions Foundation (grant received 2015)
  • 2017/2018 Academic Year: Ryder Fox and Stephanie Bi. Funded by Motorola Solutions Foundation (grant received 2016).
  • 2018/2019 Academic Year: Thomas Frietag, Christian Zimmerman, Patrick Martin-Tuite, Noelle Fries Funded by Motorola Solutions Foundation (grant received 2017 and 2018)
  • 2019/2020 Academic Year: Eilidh Lark, Luis Castillo, Kellan Baker, Victoria Chen, funded by Motorola Solutions Foundation (grant received 2018)
  • 2020/2021 Academic Year:
    • Out to Innovate Scholarship™: Arpi Grigorian, Jay Meashey, Matthew Abrams, Shayle Matsuda, Peter Pham, Leonie Barkakati, funded by Motorola Solutions Foundation (grant received 2019 and 2020)
    • David McClennan Memorial Undergraduate Engineering Scholarships: Sam Ayala, Kelly Rojas, a one-time gift from David McClennan’s niece
    • InPHi Undergraduate Physics/Engineering Scholarship: Alexa Jakob, funded by InPHi Corporation
  • 2021/2022 Academic Year:
  • 2022/2023 Academic Year:
    • Out to Innovate Scholarships: Emma Strassberg, Kevin Tu, Luis Tun, Samantha Usman.
    • Amy A. Ross Scholarship in Bioscience: Adonis Rubio
    • BHE Foundation CARES Scholarship:Sadie Atkinson, Claire Bentfield, Alice Deng, Brenardo Garcìa Martì, Phong Ha, Lauren O’Sullivan, Juniper Savchick, Tyrell Simmons, Rachel Tenney, Tylin Williams
  • 2023/2024 Academic Year:
    • Out to Innovate Engineering and Technology Scholarship, funded by Motorola Solutions Foundation: Nathaniel Moreland, Artem A., Jaiden Barthel, Nick O'Reilly, Ozichi Chinedu, Rory Rossi
    • Out to Innovate STM Scholarships, funded by our members: Meghana Hosahalli Shivananda Murthy, Frida Calvo Huerta
    • Amy A. Ross Scholarship in Bioscience: Landon Porter
    • BHE Foundation CARES Scholarship: Kayla Morris, Maxwell Pisciotta, Samantha Schmidt

Scholarship Guidelines and Eligibility

The mission of scholarship program is to:

  • Award scholarships to LGBTQ+ students currently enrolled in Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics (STEM) or STEM-related teaching fields.
  • Honor students who support a creative educational community that increases the visibility and the accomplishments of LGBTQ+ and supportive students
  • Encourage students to be out in their careers and support diversity in the STEM workforce

Award Guidelines:

  • Scholarship awards will be paid in the Fall semester/quarter only.
  • Scholarship availability depends on funding, and might not be offered every year. Some years will offer more scholarships than other years
  • All awards must be used in support of recipient’s education or research.


  • Successful completion of a minimum of two years of post-high school education at an accredited U.S. college or university
  • Minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 2.75 on a 4-point scale.
  • A declared major in an accredited STEM or STEM-related teaching field. STEM is Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math, and is defined in detail in this document.
  • Identify as a member of the LGBTQ+ community.
  • Be an active supporter of and participant in programs or organizations that promote LGBTQ+ inclusion and visibility
  • Students must be eligible for fall term registration at an accredited U.S. college or university and must not be under disciplinary sanction.

How to apply:

  • The application portal for the 2024-2025 academic year is now open. Follow this link to begin your application process.
  • The application process has three sections: profile, application, and references. The profile section tells us contact information about you. The application form involves scholastic, demographic, and financial information AND a 1000 word max personal statement. The reference request section asks you for contact information for at least two people who have agreed write a letter of recommendation for you. One of these references must be a faculty member who is familiar with your academic accomplishments; the other reference may be someone (a different faculty member, a volunteer supervisor, a mentor, a colleague) who is familiar with your community/volunteer activities.
  • Incomplete or late application submissions will not be evaluated.
  • Applications submitted via email or outside the application cycle window will not be evaluated.


Contact the Out to Innovate Scholarship Program Coordinator at: scholarships at noglstp dot org